Arts Council of Northern Ireland

The Funding and Development Agency
for The Arts in Northern Ireland

028 9262 3555

Latest News
Browse Archive

New award announced in memory of Peter Rosser

Friday 22nd January 2016 at 10am 0 Comments Music & Opera

The Peter Rosser Foundation and Hard Rain SoloistEnsemble have launched the 1st Peter Rosser Composition Award supported by the Arts Council of Northern Ireland. 

London born, composer, writer, educator and arts advocate Peter Rosser moved to Belfast in 1990 where he studied composition at the University of Ulster. 

Peter's music featured at the Spitalfields Festival in London, the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, the Belfast Festival at Queen’s, Between the Lines Literary Festival, the Dartington International Summer School and the Crash Festival in Dublin. Performers of his music include Irvine Arditti, Mieko Kanno, the Composers’ Ensemble, the Ulster Orchestra, Nua Nós, Concorde, Isabelle O’Connell, Simon Mawhinney, Scott Heron and Aoife Miskelly.

In 2012 his Second String Quartet was premiered by the JACK Quartet as part of the opening concert at Belfast’s new Metropolitan Arts Centre; the project was supported by the Arts Council of Northern Ireland’s Major Individual Artist Award. Peter championed local composers and performers, inspired young people through his teaching, and was unafraid to question the musical status quo of his adopted homeland through his journalism.

The award intends to encourage a new generation of Irish and Northern Irish composers by challenging them to create exciting new work for the Hard Rain SoloistEnsemble.

The award is open to composers born or domicile in N. Ireland and Republic of Ireland. The competition is open to composers regardless of age. However, the award is aimed at emerging composers. The organisers, therefore, welcome submissions from composers at the start of their careers and composers without a substantial track record of performances or commissions.

The deadline for the submission of entries is 4pm Friday 29th April 2016.

Full terms and conditions of the award are available here

Comments (0)

Add Your Comment

Add Your Comment

* Required fields